top of page
  • Writer's pictureKenneth Gibson MSP

Eased Restrictions for Fully Vaccinated EU and US Visitors from Monday

Fully vaccinated people from the EU and US will be able to travel to Scotland without quarantining from this coming Monday (02 August).

The need for travellers to self-isolate for 10 days upon arrival in Scotland is being waived, subject to countries covered remaining on the amber travel list.

The easing also removes the need for a PCR test on day eight after arrival and is a major relaxation of travel restrictions that were imposed to protect wider public health in Scotland.

All travellers will still be required to produce a negative test prior to departure and a negative PCR test on day two after arrival.

The step has been made possible by the success of vaccination schemes here and abroad, with inbound travellers from the EU and US required to produce accepted documentation to prove arrivals are fully protected with recognised vaccines.

Transport Secretary Michael Matheson MSP said:

“This has only been made possible due to the overwhelming success of our vaccination programme here in Scotland when coupled with successful roll-outs of vaccination schemes in the EU and US.

“Fully vaccinated travellers will be able to travel to Scotland under this significant relaxation of international travel measures, providing a boost for the tourism sector and wider economy while ensuring public health is protected.

“This new arrangement will be carefully monitored by clinicians and kept under close review as we seek to put Scotland firmly on the path to recovery – but people should continue to think very carefully about travelling – especially given the prevalence and unpredictable nature of variants of concern.”

Kenneth Gibson MSP commented:

“I know how difficult lockdown has been for those of us with family abroad, and I’m very pleased that they will soon be able to welcome their loved ones from the EU and the US to Scotland again.

“Scotland always seeks to work together with our friends in the EU and further afield, and this will result in an increasingly successful summer season for our tourism and hospitality industry.”

Concerns about the prevalence of the Beta COVID19 variant mean arrivals who have been in France in the previous 10 days are not eligible.

The terms of the scheme extend to EU and European Free Trade Association member states, as well as Switzerland, and the US, provided countries remain on the amber travel list. It also covers the independent European microstates – Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City.

The accepted documentation referenced is the EU Digital COVID Certificate and the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s white card – known as a CDC card.



  • Facebook Social Icon

01294 833687

15 Main Street


KA24 5DL


Email Kenneth


Kenneth Gibson SNP

No Parliamentary funds have been used for the creation and maintenance of this website

bottom of page